26661 Coolidge Highway, Oak Park, MI, 48237 
248-546-6800

Business Hours:
Mon-Fri:11:00am to 9:00pm
Sat:12:00~9:00pm
Restaurant Location
Number of Employees
Number of Seats
Average Price
Offers

Ratings 12 people have voted

60AVG:(5.0)
59AVG:(4.9)
60AVG:(5.0)
58AVG:(4.8)

Chinesemenu.com's Ratings & Reviews will let you know if it's worth your time or not in over 75 cities.

Comments(10)   

Reviewed by: kf_28_16 on: 2014-09-17
One word...great!!! Very good flavor and huge portion sizes! If you haven't gone it's a must!
Reviewed by: PrinceDuncan on: 2014-03-01
I have personally driven over 2000 mi to eat the lemon chicken. It is the most heaven sent food I have ever tasted!!!
Reviewed by: Blaise B. on: 11/13/2013 2:41:23 AM
Wow. I mean, I don't think I'll necessarily ever come back here because there are better options nearby, but the comments I read on here are WAY too harsh. Maybe it depends what item you order. I got crab rangoon and egg drop soup, and both were extremely mediocre. Both a little on the bland side, but not bad. They give wonton strips to put on your soup, which is important to me (some places don't, or they charge extra for them).If you want Chinese in the area, drive the extra 2 miles to go to Harvest Garden on Woodward. If you need Chinese right at 11 and Coolidge, this will work.
Reviewed by: ec3692 on: 2013-08-23
Worst chicken pad thai i have ever eaten in my life... tasted like straight soy sauce and peanuts not the sweet and spicy taste that it is supposed to be i ate 4 bites and threw the rest away... extremely disappointed
Reviewed by: Kirk L. on: 6/26/2013 1:29:39 AM
When this restaurant was by Rite Aid it was GREAT food. since moving to its new location by 7-11 the quality is more like what one would get at a mall chinese restaurant. It's sad. I will click 1 star but I almost don't want to.
Reviewed by: Dares D. on: 3/25/2013 11:55:00 AM
The problem with Taste of the Orient is that it tries to be too ambitious. The menu is simply too large, and a lot of the non-Chinese items simply miss the mark. But if you stick to the staples, I think you will be pleased. Any of the fried chicken dishes are good, especially the New York Sesame chicken, which is simply awesome and something I have never seen replicated in any other Chinese takeout place.. They use only white meat chicken, no MSG, and generally fresh ingredients. Most other Chinese take out places give you weird tiny pieces of dark meat, but Taste always delivers nice big chunks. The fried rice is always spot on, as are most of the appetizers, soups, and standard stuff like Szechuan chicken/beef, etc. I would avoid the non-Chinese stuff like Thai Chicken, Bulgogi, etc. I'm guessing they've stuck with the giant menu because they still have a regular or two who order that one random item. I go here probably about twice a month, getting a fried chicken dish, lo mein, egg rolls, fried rice, etc. and I could not be happier. Just don't be too adventurous or expect them to cater to every special request you have. It's a cheap takeout place, and I think it offers pretty decent quality for the price.
Reviewed by: Terri W. on: 3/9/2013 2:53:00 AM
I was running errands and super hungry. I wanted Thai but this place was on my way home. I have not had the best meals here previously and it has been about a year since I last ordered a meal I barely ate.What a waste of $10. How about you take some time and cut up your veggies in pieces I can eat instead of quartering a pepper that I have then cut up when I get home. Kung Bao not! Chicken LOW quality and gristly. I asked for it on the spicy side and they made it so hot I could not eat it. Ummm...I am not in a Thai restaurant.I will never go there again. Empress Garden in Southfield or Peking House in Royal Oak are the way to go. I will drive the extra 10 min next time. Blah.
Reviewed by: Mr. P. on: 2/9/2013 2:45:00 AM
This used to be our go to Chinese restaurant, until tonight. Their food has always been inconsistent, but they're located nearby so we've overlooked the food issues. However, tonight I ordered cashew chicken and asked for extra-extra-extra cashews. She asked me how many extra - $2/$3/$4? I said $3. When I got home, I found that I didn't get any extra cashews. So I went back to the store. Instead of giving me my $3 back or the extra cashews, they argued with me. Over $3 in cashews. So I've written this review and I'm not going back. Because they argued with me over $3 in cashews.
Reviewed by: Dan M. on: 12/16/2012 2:02:00 PM
This was the worst food I have ever had. It was so bad I couldn't even finish more than 3 bites. Worst place ever! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY! Absolutely disgusting.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on: 2009-04-04
The one and only time we bought carryout from there a few years ago, we referred to it as A Taste Of The Toilet.?